Skip to content

Constitution and Structure

The CMA is a well institutionalised organization based on core democratic principles.

It has been regulated by a constitution since its establishment. In 2004 when the Association held its 20th triennial conference in Ghana, its constitution was extensively revised as a way of strengthening its structures and governance.

The international headquaters is located at the international department in the British Medical Association building at Tavistock Square in London. The secretariat which is managed by a liaison officer coordinates all activities and linkages with the member national member associations.

An annual report is issued by the secretariat to all NMAs and other stakeholders. The association’s accounts is audited by a UK certified company which is appointed every three years by the council.

The Council

The Council of the Association is the highest decision-making body and it includes the CMA Executive and leaders (Presidents / Chairmen) of all the member national medical associations. It meets at least once every three years at its major conference designated as the triennial conference. At this meeting elections are also held to elect officers for the subsequent triennium. Whenever necessary a council meeting could be called as stipulated in the constitution of the association.

The Executive

The Executive executes the programmes and decisions of the council. In between the triennial and/or council meetings, they may deliberate and take decisions on crucial matters affecting the association and such decisions and actions may be reviewed for ratification by a subsequent council meeting. The Executive Committee meets regularly and most of the times by teleconference, email or other less costly means to conduct its business. The Executive comprise of the President, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer and six regional Vice-Presidents.